top of page

This is the next step in EMT Level certification.  

  • Our Advanced EMT-Cardiac Program offers a balance of didactic, clinical, and psychomotor skills in the classroom and in Hospital Emergency Medical Centers.

  • This program covers Cardiology, Pharmacology, Behavioral Mental Health, and interventions such as Endotracheal Intubation and Intraosseous cannulation. You will also be certified in ACLS and PALS. 

  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support, also known as ACLS, will certify you in treating life threatening emergencies using advanced medical procedures to the AHA standard.

  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support, also known as PALS, is similar to ACLS, but focuses on the AHA standard for pediatrics patients.


Admission Requirements​​:

  • Students for this program must have an active NREMT License and a State issued Emergency Medical Technician license.

EMT Advanced vs EMT Advanced Cardiac - Is there a difference?


Yes, there is! In Rhode Island, Advanced/Cardiac level EMT's practice with extended skills that are taught in addition to the National Advanced EMT curriculum. These skills include: Intraosseous cannulation, Endotracheal Intubation, and an expanded pharmacological scope. This allows them to hold a certification called "EMT Advanced/Cardiac", which is recognized only in Rhode Island.

EMT Advanced/Cardiac

    bottom of page